Skip to content

CO2Compensation

CO2 Compensation

With the BOKU climate mitigation projects

How it works

How we calculate the CO2emissions of flights

Distance
First, the shortest distance between the departure and destination airport is determined based on longitude and latitude ("great circle distance").
1
Distance
Detour factor
The great circle distance is then multiplied by a detour factor to take holding patterns, weather conditions, etc. into account.
2
Detour factor
Fuel consumption
For fuel consumption, we use a weighted average of the consumption of 3 aircraft types for short distances (<1,850 km) and 4 aircraft types for long distances.<1.850 km) bzw. 4 Flugzeugtypen bei Langstrecken ausgegangen.
3
Fuel consumption
CO2 Emissions
The calculated fuel consumption is then multiplied by the emission factor of 3.15 (according to IPCCguidelines) to obtain the amount of total CO2 emitted. We apply this factor because the combustion of one kg of fuel produces 3.15 kg of CO2.
4
CO2 Emissions
Emission output per passenger
To determine the CO2-emissions per passenger, the average number of seats on a short-haul or long-haul aircraft, the average load factor, and a certain factor for the flight class (economy, business, first) are used.
5
Emission output per passenger
Climate impact
To take the actual climate impact of the greenhouse gases emitted into consideration, we use the Radiative Forcing Index. For this purpose, the greenhouse gas emissions are multiplied by a factor of 2.
6
Climate impact

OUR UNIQUE SELLING POINTS

We offer more than just
greenhouse gas compensation

Climate protection as pioneering work

The University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna is the first and only university worldwide to implement research-oriented climate mitigation projects in countries in the Global South. In line with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), we aim to focus on the social value of the mitigation activities we conduct. Thus, the benefits of BOKU climate mitigation measures go far beyond the compensation of CO2 .

Contribution to the UN Sustainability Development Goals

To lead a "good life", education, economic self-determination, and social and ecological sustainability are indispensable. In addition to binding or preventing CO2 , BOKU mitigation projects also entail further benefits thanks to their focus on several Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Their fulfillment is guaranteed through professional evaluation and review by the scientific advisory board.

Long-term cooperation on site

The close contact between our project sponsors and local actors not only strengthens participatory processes on-site but also allows for further research and teaching cooperation. A number of bachelor and diploma theses, dissertations, and articles entires in scientific journals have already been published based on data and results from the BOKU climate mitigation projects. These can help with the successful implementation of further mitigation measures and further ambitious projects.

Donations that arrive on site

Our projects bind more than 150.000 t CO2-eq and are financed by private donors, companies, and the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna itself. More than 90 percent of the CO2-compensation funds flow directly into BOKU climate protection projects, as our staff are co-financed by the University. We issue a certificate for each donation.

Overview

The BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

Gulu / Uganda

Siwalik and Gauri Sankar / Nepal

North-Gondar / Ethiopia

Addis Ababa / Ethiopia

Soroti / Uganda

La Dorada / Colombia

Fully Financed Projects

North-Gondar / Ethiopia

San Miguel / Costa Rica

Assessment and Selection

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for the independent assessment and quality assurance of the BOKU compensation system and the BOKU climate protection projects. The Advisory Board was assembled for the first time on 10 March 2011 from the members listed below. When appointing the members, care was taken to ensure that both proven experts from the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna, as well as external experts, were included. The work of the advisory board is done voluntarily. This not only ensures the objectivity of the members but also ensures that more than 90% of the donated money can be used directly for BOKU climate mitigation projects.

  • Susanne Boesch, M.A.I.S MBA Austrian Development Bank (ÖEB)
  • Enrico Dal Farra, MSc Austrian Development Agency (ADA)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Jesús Garcia Latorre, Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK)
  • Markus Hafner-Auinger, MA Klimabündnis Austria
  • Univ. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Klaus Katzensteiner Cluster for Development Research (CDR), University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Andreas Melcher Institute for Development Research (IDR), University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Mag. Mag. Helene Unterguggenberger Caritas Austria
  • Representative of the Environmental Department of the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Vienna
  • Dipl.-Ing. Sascha Mohnke Project Management Climate Neutrality, University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Mag. Dominik Schmitz Head of the Competence Centre for Climate Neutrality, University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Vienna
en_GB

Skip to content

CO2-Kompensation

CO2 Kompensieren

Mit den BOKU Klimaschutzprojekten

Funktionsweise

So berechnen wir den CO2-Ausstoß von Flügen

Distanz
Zunächst wird auf Basis von Längen- und Breitengraden die kürzeste Distanz zwischen Abflug- und Zielflughafen ermittelt ("Großkreisdistanz").
1
Distanz
Umwegfaktor
Diese Großkreisdistanz wird mit einen Umwegfaktor multipliziert, um Warteschleifen, Wetterbedingungen etc. zu berücksichtigen.
2
Umwegfaktor
Treibstoffverbrauch
Für den Treibstoffverbrauch wird von einem gewichteten Mittel des Verbrauchs von 3 Flugzeugtypen bei Kurzstrecken (<1.850 km) bzw. 4 Flugzeugtypen bei Langstrecken ausgegangen.
3
Treibstoffverbrauch
CO2 Ausstoß
Der ermittelte Treibstoffverbrauch wird dann mit dem Emissionsfaktor 3,15 (gemäß IPCC) multipliziert, um die Menge des ausgestoßenen CO2 zu erhalten. Denn durch die Verbrennung von einem kg Treibstoff entstehen 3,15 kg CO2.
4
CO2 Ausstoß
Ausstoß pro Passagier
Um den CO2-Ausstoß pro Passagier zu ermitteln, werden die durchschnittliche Anzahl an Sitzplätzen in einem Kurz- bzw. Langstreckenflugzeug, der durchschnittliche Auslastungsfaktor und ein bestimmter Faktor für die Flugklasse (economy, business, first) herangezogen.
5
Ausstoß pro Passagier
Klimawirksamkeit
Um die tatsächliche Klimawirksamkeit der ausgestoßenen Treibhausgase zu berücksichtigen, verwenden wir den Radiative Forcing Index. Hierfür werden die Treibhausgasemissionen Emissionen mit den Faktor 2 multipliziert.
6
Klimawirksamkeit

UNSERE VORTEILE

Wir bieten mehr, als nur
Treibhausgase zu kompensieren

Klimaschutz als Pionierarbeit

Als erste und einzige Universität weltweit implementiert die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien forschungs-orientierte Klimaschutzprojekte in Ländern des globalen Südens. Im Sinne der UN Ziele für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) werden auch ökonomische und soziale Aspekte der lokalen Bevölkerung berücksichtigt. Damit gehen die Vorteile der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte weit über die Kompensation von CO2 hinaus.

Beitrag zu den UN - Nachhaltigkeitszielen

Für ein „gutes Leben“ sind Bildung, wirtschaftliche Selbstbestimmung und soziale sowie ökologische Nachhaltigkeit unabdingbar. Neben der Bindung bzw. Vermeidung von CO2 bringen die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte durch ihren Fokus auf eine Vielzahl von Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) weiteren Nutzen. Deren Erfüllung wird mittels fachgerechter Evaluierung und Prüfung durch den wissenschaftlichen Beirat gewährleistet.

Langjährige Kooperationen vor Ort

Der enge Kontakt unserer Projektträger zu lokalen AkteurInnen stärkt nicht nur partizipative Prozesse vor Ort, sondern lässt auch weitere Forschungs- und Lehrkooperationen entstehen. Über die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte wurden bereits zahlreiche Bachelor- und Diplomarbeiten, Dissertationen sowie Beiträge in wissenschaftlichen Journals veröffentlicht. Sie können helfen, weitere Klimaschutzprojekte erfolgreich umzusetzen.

Spenden, die ankommen

Unsere Projekte binden mehr als 150.000 t CO2-Äquivalente und werden von privaten SpenderInnen, Unternehmen und der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien selbst finanziert. Über 90 Prozent der CO2-Kompensationsgelder fließen direkt in die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte, da unser Personal von der Universität co-finanziert wird. Für jede Spende geben wir ein Zertifikat aus.

Im überblick

Die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

Gulu / Uganda

Siwalik und Gauri Sankar / Nepal

Nord-Gondar / Äthiopien

Addis Abeba / Äthiopien

Soroti / Uganda

La Dorada / Kolumbien

ausfinanzierte projekte

Nord-Gondar / Äthiopien

San Miguel / Costa Rica

Begutachtung und Auswahl

Der wissenschaftliche Beirat

Der wissenschaftliche Beirat sorgt für die unabhängige Prüfung und die Qualitätssicherung des BOKU Kompensationssystems und der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte. Der Beirat konstituierte sich erstmalig am 10. März 2011 aus den nebenstehenden Mitgliedern. Bei der Besetzung wurde darauf geachtet, sowohl ausgewiesene ExpertInnen der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien als auch externe sachkundige Personen zu erreichen. Die Arbeit des Beirats erfolgt auf ehrenamtlicher Basis. So soll nicht nur die Objektivität der Mitglieder gewahrt, sondern auch sichergestellt werden, dass mehr als 90 % des gespendeten Geldes direkt für die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte verwendet werden können.

  • Susanne Boesch, M.A.I.S MBA Oesterreichische Entwicklungsbank (OeEB)
  • Enrico Dal Farra, MSc Austrian Development Agency (ADA)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Jesús Garcia Latorre, Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (BMK)
  • Mag. Markus Hafner-Auinger, MA Klimabündnis Österreich
  • Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Klaus Katzensteiner Cluster for Development Research (CDR), Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Andreas Melcher Institut für Entwicklungsforschung (IDR), Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Mag. Mag. Helene Unterguggenberger Caritas Österreich
  • VertreterIn des Umweltreferats HochschülerInnenschaft der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Dipl.-Ing. Sascha Mohnke Projektmanagement Klimaneutralität, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Mag. Dominik Schmitz Leiter der Kompetenzstelle für Klimaneutralität, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien