OUR UNIQUE SELLING POINTS

We offer more than just
greenhouse gas compensation

Climate protection as pioneering work

The University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna is the first and only university worldwide to implement research-oriented climate mitigation projects in countries in the Global South. In line with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), we aim to focus on the social value of the mitigation activities we conduct. Thus, the benefits of BOKU climate mitigation measures go far beyond the compensation of CO2 .

Contribution to the UN Sustainability Development Goals

To lead a "good life", education, economic self-determination, and social and ecological sustainability are indispensable. In addition to binding or preventing CO2 , BOKU mitigation projects also entail further benefits thanks to their focus on several Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Their fulfillment is guaranteed through professional evaluation and review by the scientific advisory board.

Long-term cooperation on site

The close contact between our project sponsors and local actors not only strengthens participatory processes on-site but also allows for further research and teaching cooperation. A number of bachelor and diploma theses, dissertations, and articles entries in scientific journals have already been published based on data and results from the BOKU climate mitigation projects. These can help with the successful implementation of further mitigation measures and further ambitious projects.

Donations that arrive on site

Our projects bind more than 150.000 t CO2-eq and are financed by private donors, companies, and the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna itself. More than 90 percent of the CO2-compensation funds flow directly into BOKU climate protection projects, as our staff are co-financed by the University. We issue a certificate for each donation.

Overview

The BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

Gulu / Uganda

Siwalik and Gauri Sankar / Nepal

Addis Ababa / Ethiopia

La Dorada / Colombia

Soroti / Uganda

Fully Financed Projects

North-Gondar / Ethiopia

San Miguel / Costa Rica

Assessment and Selection

The Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is responsible for the independent assessment and quality assurance of the BOKU compensation system and the BOKU climate protection projects. The Advisory Board was assembled for the first time on March 10th 2011 by the members listed below. When appointing the members, care was taken to ensure that both proven experts from the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna, as well as external experts, were included. The work of the advisory board is done on a voluntary basis. This not only ensures the objectivity of the members but also ensures that more than 90% of the donated money can be used directly for BOKU climate mitigation projects.

  • Susanne Boesch, M.A.I.S MBA Österreichische Entwicklungsbank (OeEB)
  • Enrico Dal Farra, MSc.
    Austrian Development Agency (ADA)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Jesús Garcia Latorre, Federal Ministry for Climate Protection, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK)
  • Univ. Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Klaus Katzensteiner Cluster for Development Research (CDR), University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Andreas Melcher Institute for Development Research (IDR), University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Mag. Mag. Helene Unterguggenberger Caritas Austria
  • Mag. Stefan Ropac WWF
  • Representative of the Environmental Department of the University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences, Vienna
  • Dipl.-Ing. Sascha Mohnke Project Management Climate Neutrality, University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna
  • Dr. Thomas Lindenthal  University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU)

BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

Frequently Asked Questions

The BOKU compensation system offers more than just compensation for greenhouse gases. The aim of the pilot projects, accompanied by research and development, is to establish structural and sustainable changes on site. The BOKU climate protection projects selected by the advisory board aim to provide impulses for innovative climate protection measures in the host country, which will subsequently become extensive, self-sustaining climate protection programs through cooperation between science and the local population. 

In order to certify climate protection projects externally, considerable sums are invested in the creation and verification of project documents that do not directly benefit climate protection. Depending on the standard used and the type of project (whether afforestation, energy efficiency, renewable energy), transaction costs of between €50,000 and €500,000 must be incurred. Smaller projects and initiatives often cannot be realized due to the high additional costs. For this reason, the focus of BOKU is on the implementation of small projects that would otherwise not have the opportunity to be financed.

90-100% of the donations go directly to the climate protection projects. The support and administrative activities by employees of the competence center for climate neutrality are financed by BOKU itself. The climate protection effectiveness of the projects is ensured by quality criteria, which are checked by the independent advisory board.

The work of the BOKU CO2compensation system is accompanied by a scientific advisory board. This Advisory Board is appointed by the Rectorate of BOKU at the suggestion of the Center for Global Change and Sustainability. Attention is paid to a mixture of BOKU members and representatives of external, relevant organizations (e.g. Austrian Development Bank and Austrian Development Agency). These members have proven competencies in the field of climate policy and CO2compensation as well as knowledge of local conditions and countries in which BOKU climate protection projects are carried out.

All projects that are eligible for compensation are checked by the advisory board. Attention is paid to the projects themselves, as well as to the CO2methodology used and the associated calculations of the CO2saved. In addition, a number of social and ecological criteria are used in project selection and implementation, which are also checked by the advisory board.

Methods were developed at BOKU to calculate the emissions. These are based on the IPCC, Gold Standard and Verified Carbon Standard. The reason for the changes to the "classic" methods is above all the size of the BOKU climate protection projects. Furthermore, two types of projects are distinguished at BOKU:
  • Projects carried out by BOKU in cooperation with organizations
    • Here the data is collected by scientists and master theses are written
  • Cooperation with other organizations such as Caritas or HELIOZ
    • Here, monitoring is checked by the competence center for climate neutrality.
A special feature that distinguishes the BOKU climate protection projects from others is that a CO2 buffer is always planned in.

First of all, it has to be said that climate protection projects are not tourism attractions. BOKU's climate protection projects primarily serve to preserve, support and protect ecosystems. Therefore, the areas of life of the local population, nature and ecosystems are the focus of BOKU climate protection projects.

A visit is possible under the following conditions:
The people living on site and the project leaders agree to such a visit.

CO2 reductions should sensibly occur where the specific costs are lowest and the CO2 saving effect is highest. CO2 avoidance costs are generally higher in industrialized countries than in countries of the Global South due to the use of clean technologies. Smaller projects and initiatives in countries that have only carried out a few projects up to now, especially Least Developed Countries, often could not be realized due to the high additional costs. It is precisely there that knowledge and technology transfer can achieve a major climate protection effect and establish sustainable systems. The aim is to achieve a high level of acceptance through participatory research and thus a permanent improvement in the project results.

With the exception of a few areas, compensation projects in Austria have the problem of double counting. As part of the annual CO2 inventory of Austria (carried out by the Federal Environment Agency), the annual CO2 emissions (and thus also the achieved CO2reductions compared to the previous year) are reported to the European Commission. This measures and verifies the achievement of the Austrian CO2 reduction targets. If an energy project, e.g. a large solar park in Austria, achieves CO2 reductions and sells these CO2 reductions to company X, then company X counts the CO2 reductions on the one hand and the state of Austria on the other.

UNSERE VORTEILE

Wir bieten mehr, als nur
Treibhausgase zu kompensieren

Klimaschutz als Pionierarbeit

Als erste und einzige Universität weltweit implementiert die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien forschungs-orientierte Klimaschutzprojekte in Ländern des globalen Südens. Im Sinne der UN Ziele für Nachhaltige Entwicklung (SDGs) werden auch ökonomische und soziale Aspekte der lokalen Bevölkerung berücksichtigt. Damit gehen die Vorteile der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte weit über die Kompensation von CO2 hinaus.

Beitrag zu den UN - Nachhaltigkeitszielen

Für ein „gutes Leben“ sind Bildung, wirtschaftliche Selbstbestimmung und soziale sowie ökologische Nachhaltigkeit unabdingbar. Neben der Bindung bzw. Vermeidung von CO2 bringen die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte durch ihren Fokus auf eine Vielzahl von Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) weiteren Nutzen. Deren Erfüllung wird mittels fachgerechter Evaluierung und Prüfung durch den wissenschaftlichen Beirat gewährleistet.

Langjährige Kooperationen vor Ort

Der enge Kontakt unserer Projektträger zu lokalen AkteurInnen stärkt nicht nur partizipative Prozesse vor Ort, sondern lässt auch weitere Forschungs- und Lehrkooperationen entstehen. Über die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte wurden bereits zahlreiche Bachelor- und Diplomarbeiten, Dissertationen sowie Beiträge in wissenschaftlichen Journals veröffentlicht. Sie können helfen, weitere Klimaschutzprojekte erfolgreich umzusetzen.

Spenden, die ankommen

Unsere Projekte binden mehr als 150.000 t CO2-Äquivalente und werden von privaten SpenderInnen, Unternehmen und der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien selbst finanziert. Über 90 Prozent der CO2-Kompensationsgelder fließen direkt in die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte, da unser Personal von der Universität co-finanziert wird. Für jede Spende geben wir ein Zertifikat aus.

Im überblick

Die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

Gulu / Uganda

Siwalik und Gauri Sankar / Nepal

La Dorada / Kolumbien

Soroti / Uganda

ausfinanzierte projekte

Nord-Gondar / Äthiopien

San Miguel / Costa Rica

Addis Abeba / Äthiopien

Begutachtung und Auswahl

Der wissenschaftliche Beirat

Der wissenschaftliche Beirat sorgt für die unabhängige Prüfung und die Qualitätssicherung des BOKU Kompensationssystems und der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte. Der Beirat konstituierte sich erstmalig am 10. März 2011 aus den nebenstehenden Mitgliedern. Bei der Besetzung wurde darauf geachtet, sowohl ausgewiesene ExpertInnen der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien als auch externe sachkundige Personen zu erreichen. Die Arbeit des Beirats erfolgt auf ehrenamtlicher Basis. So soll nicht nur die Objektivität der Mitglieder gewahrt, sondern auch sichergestellt werden, dass mehr als 90 % des gespendeten Geldes direkt für die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte verwendet werden können.

  • Susanne Boesch, M.A.I.S MBA Österreichische Entwicklungsbank (OeEB)
  • Enrico Dal Farra, MSc. Austrian Development Agency (ADA)
  • Dipl.-Ing. Jesús Garcia Latorre Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz, Umwelt, Energie, Mobilität, Innovation und Technologie (BMK)
  • Dr. Thomas Lindenthal Zentrum für Globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Klaus Katzensteiner Cluster for Development Research (CDR), Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Dr. Florian Kraxner International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
  • Mag. Martina Luger Horizont 3000
  • Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Andreas Melcher Institut für Entwicklungsforschung (IDR), Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Dipl.-Ing. Sascha Mohnke Zentrum für Globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit, Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
  • Mag. Stefan Ropac WWF
  • Mag. Mag. Helene Unterguggenberger Caritas Österreich
  • VertreterIn des Umweltreferats HochschülerInnenschaft der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

Frequently Asked Questions

Das BOKU Kompensationssystem bietet mehr als nur die Kompensation von Treibhausgasen. Das Ziel der Pilotprojekte ist es, begleitet von Forschung und Entwicklung, strukturelle und nachhaltige Veränderungen vor Ort zu etablieren. Die vom Beirat ausgewählten BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte haben das Ziel, Impulse für innovative Klimaschutzmaßnahmen im Gastland zu sein welche in der weiteren Folge durch Zusammenarbeit von Wissenschaft & der lokalen Bevölkerung umfangreiche, sich selbst tragende Programme zum Klimaschutz werden sollen. 

Um Klimaschutzprojekte extern zu zertifizieren, werden beträchtliche Summen in die Erstellung und Überprüfung von Projektdokumenten gesteckt, die nicht direkt dem Klimaschutz zu Gute kommen. Je nach verwendetem Standard und Projekttyp (ob Aufforstung, Energieeffizienz, Erneuerbare Energie) müssen Transaktionskosten aufgewendet werden, die zwischen 50.000€ und 500.000€ liegen. Kleinere Projekte und Initiativen können aufgrund der hohen Zusatzkosten oftmals nicht realisiert werden. Aus diesem Grund liegt der Fokus der BOKU auf der Umsetzung von Kleinstprojekten, die andernfalls nicht die Möglichkeit bekommen würden finanziert zu werden.

Von den Spendengeldern gehen somit 90-100% direkt an die Klimaschutzprojekte. Die Betreuung und administrative Tätigkeiten durch Mitarbeiter:innen der Kompetenzstelle für Klimaneutralität werden von der BOKU selbst finanziert. Die Klimaschutzwirksamkeit der Projekte wird durch Qualitätskriterien gesichert, welche vom unabhängigen Beirat geprüft werden.

Die Arbeit des BOKU CO2-Kompensationssystems wird durch einen wissenschaftlichen Beirat begleitet. Dieser Beirat wird auf Vorschlag des Zentrums für Globalen Wandel und Nachhaltigkeit vom Rektorat der BOKU ernannt. Hierbei wird auf eine Mischung aus BOKU-Angehörigen und Vertreter:innen externer, einschlägiger Organisationen (beispielsweise Österreichische Entwicklungsbank und Austrian Development Agency) geachtet. Diese Mitglieder haben ausgewiesene Kompetenzen im Bereich Klimapolitik und CO2-Kompensation sowie Kenntnisse über lokale Gegebenheiten und Länder, in denen die BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte durchgeführt werden.

Alle Projekte die bei der Kompensation zur Auswahl stehen werden durch den Beirat geprüft. Hierbei wird sowohl auf die Projekte selbst, als auch auf die angewendete CO2-Methodologie und die dazugehörigen Berechnungen des eingesparten CO2s geachtet. Zudem werden eine Reihe an sozialen und ökologischen Kriterien bei der Projektauswahl und Durchführung herangezogen, die ebenfalls durch den Beirat geprüft werden.

Grundsätzlich befasst sich das Monitoring von Klimaschutzprojekten mit der Dokumentation, Evaluierung und Bilanzierung der Treibhausgasemissionen. An der BOKU wurden eigene Methoden entwickelt, um die Emissionen zu errechnen. Diese orientieren sich an IPCC, GoldStandard und Verified Carbon Standard. Der Grund für die Abänderungen der „klassischen“ Methoden ist vor allem die Größe der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte. Des Weiteren werden an der BOKU zwei Arten von Projekten unterschieden:
  • Von der BOKU durchgeführte Projekte, die in Kooperation mit Organisationen durchgeführt werden
    • Hier werden die Daten von  Wissenschaftler:innen erhoben und Masterarbeiten verfasst
  • Kooperationen mit anderen Organisationen, wie zB. Caritas oder HELIOZ
    • Hier werden Monitorings von der Kompetenzstelle für Klimaneutralität kontrolliert.
Eine Besonderheit, die die BOKU-Klimaschutzprojekte von anderen unterscheidet, ist, dass immer ein CO2 Puffer eingeplant wird.

Zuallererst ist zu sagen, dass es sich bei Klimaschutzprojekten nicht um Tourismus Attraktionen handelt. Die Klimaschutzprojekte der BOKU dienen vor allem der Erhaltung, Unterstützung und dem Schutz von Ökosystemen. Deshalb stehen die Lebensbereiche der lokalen Bevölkerung, der Natur und den Ökosystemen im Zentrum der BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte.

Ein Besuch dieser ist unter folgender Voraussetzung möglich:
Die vor Ort lebenden Menschen und die Projekt Leiter:innen stimmen einem solchen Besuch zu.

CO2 Reduktionen sollten sinnvoller Weise dort entstehen, wo die spezifischen Kosten am geringsten und der CO2 Einsparungseffekt am höchsten ist. CO2 Vermeidungskosten sind in Industrieländern auf Grund des Einsatzes sauberer Technologien in der Regel höher als in Ländern des globalen Süden. Kleinere Projekte und Initiativen in Ländern, die bisher nur wenige Projekte durchgeführt haben, vor allem Least Developed Countries konnten auf Grund der hohen Zusatzkosten oft nicht realisiert werden. Gerade dort kann aber durch Wissens- und Technologietransfer ein großer Klimaschutzeffekt erzielt und nachhaltige Systeme etabliert werden. Es ist das Ziel durch partizipative Forschung eine hohe Akzeptanz und dadurch eine permanente Verbesserung der Projektergebnisse zu erzielen.

Bei Kompensationsprojekten in Österreich besteht, bis auf wenige Bereiche, die Problematik der Doppelzählung. Im Rahmen der jährlichen CO2 Inventur von Österreich (durchgeführt vom Umweltbundesamt) werden die jährlichen CO2 Emissionen (und damit auch die erzielten CO2-Reduktionen im Vergleich zum Vorjahr) an die Europäische Kommission berichterstattet. Damit wird die Erreichung der österreichischen CO2 Reduktionsziele gemessen und überprüft. Wenn nun ein Energieprojekt, z.B. ein großer Solarpark in Österreich CO2 Reduktionen erzielt und diese CO2 Reduktionen an die Firma X weiterverkauft, dann rechnet sich einerseits die Firma X die CO2 Reduktionen an und andererseits der Staat Österreich.