BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

Small-scale bio-gas plants instead of deforestation and erosion

This BOKU climate mitigation project reduces CO2 emissions by using biogas plants. Increased cooking on open fires does not only lead to forests degradation, it also releases dangerous carbon compounds and increases soil erosion. The purchase of charcoal and firewood is increasingly becoming an economic burden for the local population. With the construction of small biogas plants and their proper commissioning, an alternative and energy-efficient cooking option is being offered through this initiative.

Strengthening of the community through solidarity implementation

The joint organization of the introduction of animal manure and the distribution of gas and fermentation residue (fertilizer) strengthens the sustainable development of the area. The bio-gas plants are based on a collaborative approach, in which households with more animals support households with fewer animals by introducing more animal manure into the plants. The produced bio-gas and fertilizer are distributed to the respective households in solidarity.

Seedlings and training courses flank the project

Households are provided with gas stoves and training as part of the project. They are also given seedlings so that they can use the fertilizer produced immediately. The scientific support of the project is provided by BOKU and the University of Gulu and offers opportunities for research by students and young scientists. Thus, this BOKU project not only makes a significant contribution to climate mitigation and adaptation but also improves the living situation in Uganda through co-benefits.

Read more

Community Bio-gas Plants in Gulu / Uganda

Emissions Reduction18.000 t CO2-eq in 6 years

Project DurationStart 2020, duration of 6 years

Project Costs703.200 €

Costs per Tonne of CO219,5 €

Situation without the ProjectDeforestation of forest areas, CO2-emissions from the use of firewood and charcoal, and health hazards from flue gases

GoalConstruction of 200 bio-gas plants for a total of 800 households and schools, and an increase in food production.

Project DeveloperCaritas Carinthia, IFA - Institute for Environmental Biotechnology (from BOKU), Caritas Gulu and Gulu University, Uganda

Co-financing Partners and (other) PartnersCaritas Upper Austria, Bruder und Schwester in Not Innsbruck (BSIN), Missio

BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

Kleine Biogasanlagen anstatt Entwaldung und Erosion

Dieses BOKU-Klimaschutzprojekt reduziert CO2-Emissionen durch den Einsatz von Biogasanlagen. Vermehrtes Kochen auf offenem Feuer führt nicht nur zu einer starken Waldübernutzung, der Freisetzung von gefährlichen Kohlenstoffverbindungen und Bodenerosion. Die Anschaffung von Holzkohle und Brennholz wird zunehmend zu einer ökonomischen Belastung für die lokale Bevölkerung. Mit dem Bau von kleinen Biogasanlagen und ihrer ordnungsgemäßen Inbetriebnahme wird eine alternative und energieeffiziente Kochvariante angeboten.

Stärkung der Gemeinschaft durch solidarische Umsetzung

Die gemeinschaftliche Organisation der Einbringungen des Tiermists, der Verteilung von Gas und Gärrest (Dünger) stärken die nachhaltige Entwicklung vor Ort. So basieren die Biogasanlagen auf einem kollaborativen Ansatz, bei dem Haushalte mit mehr Tieren Haushalte mit weniger Tieren unterstützen, indem sie mehr Tiermist in die Anlagen einbringen. Das produzierte Biogas und der Dünger werden solidarisch auf die jeweiligen Haushalte verteilt.

Setzlinge und Schulungen flankieren das Projekt

Den Haushalten werden Gasherde und Schulungen im Rahmen des Projektes zur Verfügung gestellt. Außerdem bekommen sie Setzlinge, um den hergestellten Dünger gleich anwenden zu können. Die wissenschaftliche Begleitung des Projektes wird durch die BOKU und die Universität zu Gulu gewährleistet und bietet Gelegenheit für die Forschung von Studierenden und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern. So leistet dieses BOKU-Klimaschutzprojekt nicht nur einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Klimaschutz, sondern verbessert durch Co-Benefits auch die Lebenssituation in Uganda.

Mehr lesen

Gemeinschaftliche Biogasanlagen in Gulu / Uganda

EMISSIONSREDUKTION18.000 t CO2-eq in 6 Jahren

PROJEKTDAUERStart 2020, Dauer 6 Jahre

PROJEKTKOSTEN703.200 €

KOSTEN PRO TONNE CO219,5 €

SITUATION OHNE PROJEKTAbholzung der Waldflächen, CO2-Emissionen durch Verwendung von Feuerholz und Holzkohle, Gesundheitsgefährdung durch Rauchgase

ZIELErrichtung von 200 Biogasanlagen für insgesamt 800 Haushalte und Schulen, sowie Steigerung der Nahrungsmittelproduktion

PROJEKTENTWICKLERCaritas Kärnten, IFA – Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie (BOKU), Caritas Gulu und Gulu University, Uganda

KOFINANZIERUNGSPARTNER UND (WEITERE) PARTNERCaritas Oberösterreich, Bruder und Schwester in Not Innsbruck (BSIN), Missio