BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

Addressing a variety of challenges

According to the WHO, about 70 percent of Uganda's rural population has no access to clean drinking water. Water is disinfected by cooking over open wood fires, but this also causes health problems. Many people already suffer from serious lung diseases caused by air pollutants from inefficient wood burning. Furthermore, Uganda has one of the highest deforestation rates in the world. An intact environment, clean air, and safe drinking water are, however, the prerequisites for a good life and are indispensable for education, ecological and social sustainability, and the fight against poverty.

Innovative approaches through a broad cooperation network

The use of solar water disinfection (SODIS method) drastically reduces the amount of firewood needed, which should save about 20,000 tonnes of CO2 in the next five years. Furthermore, this project will also counteract the development of harmful smoke in households. The cooperation between the BOKU Institute for Sanitation, Industrial Water Management and Water Pollution Control, the Water School Uganda, and the Makarere University in Kampala ensures a holistic approach to the project.

Water disinfection by UV radiation

Two thousand households in Soroti are being familiarized with the use of solar water disinfection (SODIS method) as part of the BOKU project. The Austrian start-up HELIOZ provides each household with a device for measuring UV radiation (WADI), which has been tested in Africa and Asia. With this device, the disinfection of drinking water can be easily checked and guaranteed. In addition to the CO2-mitigation, the project also brings additional social and ecological added value.

Read more

Safe Drinking Water and Clean Air for Soroti / Uganda

Emissions Reduction20.000 t CO2 in 5 years

Project DurationStart 2019, monitoring for 5 years.

Project Costs329.500 €

Costs per Tonne of CO220,0 €

Situation without the ProjectDeforestation of forest areas, CO2-emissions from the use of firewood for drinking treated water, and health hazards due to flue gas development during wood combustion

GoalUse of solar water disinfection (SODIS method with WADI) in 2000 households and improvement of the hygienic situation

BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

Aufgreifen von vielfältigen Herausforderungen

Der WHO zufolge verfügen etwa 70 Prozent der ländlichen Bevölkerung Ugandas über keinen Zugang zu sauberem Trinkwasser. Wasser wird durch Kochen über offenem Holzfeuer desinfiziert, was aber auch gesundheitliche Probleme zur Folge hat. Eine Vielzahl von Menschen leidet bereits an schwerwiegenden Lungenkrankheiten, hervorgerufen durch die Luftschadstoffe bei ineffizienter Holzverbrennung. Des Weiteren weist Uganda eine der weltweit höchsten Abholzungsraten auf. Eine intakte Umwelt, saubere Luft und sicheres Trinkwasser sind jedoch die Voraussetzung für gutes Leben und unabdingbar für Bildung, ökologische und soziale Nachhaltigkeit sowie für die Bekämpfung von Armut.

Innovative Ansätze durch breites Kooperationsnetzwerk

Durch den Einsatz von solarer Wasserdesinfektion (SODIS-Methode) wird die Menge an benötigtem Feuerholz drastisch reduziert. Dadurch sollen in den nächsten fünf Jahren 20.000 Tonnen CO2 eingespart werden. Darüber hinaus wird mit diesem Projekt auch der gesundheitsschädlichen Rauchentwicklung in den Haushalten entgegengewirkt. Durch die Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem BOKU-Institut für Siedlungswasser, Industriewasserwirtschaft und Gewässerschutz, der Water School Uganda und der Makarere-Universität in Kampala wird im Projekt ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz gewährleistet.

Wasserdesinfektion durch UV-Strahlung

2000 Haushalte in Soroti werden im Rahmen des BOKU-Klimaschutzprojektes mit der Verwendung von solarer Wasserdesinfektion (SODIS-Methode) vertraut gemacht. Das österreichische Start-Up HELIOZ stellt für jeden Haushalt ein in Afrika und Asien erprobtes Gerät zur Messung der UV-Strahlung (WADI) zur Verfügung. Damit kann die Desinfektion des Trinkwassers einfach überprüft und gewährleistet werden. Neben der CO2-Bindung bringt auch dieses BOKU-Klimaschutzprojekt damit einen zusätzlichen sozialen und ökologischen Mehrwert.

Mehr lesen

Sicheres Trinkwasser und saubere Luft für Soroti / Uganda

EMISSIONSREDUKTION20.000 t CO2 in 5 Jahren

PROJEKTDAUERStart 2019, Begleitung über 5 Jahre

PROJEKTKOSTEN329.500 €

KOSTEN PRO TONNE CO220,0 €

SITUATION OHNE PROJEKTAbholzung der Waldflächen, CO2-Emissionen durch Verwendung von Feuerholz zur Trinkwasseraufbereitung, Gesundheitsgefährdung durch Rauchgasentwicklung bei der Holzverbrennung

ZIELNutzung der solaren Wasserdesinfektion (SODIS-Methode mit WADI) in 2000 Haushalten und Verbesserung der hygienischen Situation