BOKU Climate Mitigation Projects

60 hectares of fallow land grow into a coppice forest

As a successor to the successfully completed carbon sequestration project, "Afforestation and natural reforestation in North Gondar / Ethiopia" , an adjacent area was approved for reforestation. Through sustainable management of the pasture land and so-called fencing areas, 60 hectares are specifically protected from grazing and can thus grow into coppice forest.

Local population, economy, and biodiversity benefit

Similarly to the percussing project, separate goals are being pursued in this ongoing project in addition to the CO2carbon sink of at least 11,000 tonnes: (1) the strengthening of local economies through the availability of wood, animal feed, and additional income from "non-timber forest products" such as honey, seeds, resins, etc. (2) The natural regeneration of regionally adapted trees and (3) the increase of local biodiversity as well as water and soil protection.

Self-determination of the village community and tree nursery program guarantee long-term success

The village communities manage the collective forest area together in a participatory process establishing common rules for the management of the new areas. Furthermore, the project will support the development of the local tree nursery programme for seedlings of native species and local "Farmer to Farmer Training" to further contribute to the development of additional sites for fencing areas in the region and for the afforestation of further areas in the region

Read more

Reforestation and Regeneration of Local Forests in North-Gondar / Ethiopia

Emissions Reduction11.200 t CO2-eq in 30 years

Project DurationStart 2018, monitoring over 30 years.

Project Costs218.000 €

Costs per Tonne of CO219,5 €

Situation without the ProjectDeforestation and overgrazing

GoalConversion of 60 ha of fallow land into unequal-aged, stable coppice forest, and participatory management of pasture and forest areas

BOKU Klimaschutzprojekte

60 Hektar Brachland wachsen zu einem Niederwald heran

Als Nachfolger des bereits erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Klimaschutzprojektes „Aufforstung und natürliche Wiederbewaldung in Nord-Gondar / Äthiopien“ wurde eine weitere Fläche zur Aufforstung freigegeben. Durch nachhaltiges Management des Weidelandes und sogenannte Auszäunungsgebiete werden 60 Hektar gezielt vor Beweidung geschützt und können so zu einem Niederwald heranwachsen.

Lokale Bevölkerung und Wirtschaft sowie Biodiversität profitieren

Wie die zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen zum Vorgängerprojekt zeigen, werden neben der CO2-Reduktion von mindestens 11.000 Tonnen noch weitere Ziele verfolgt: (1) die Stärkung lokaler Ökonomien durch die Verfügbarkeit von Holz, Viehfutter und zusätzlichem Einkommen aus „Non Timber Forest Products“, wie Honig, Samen, Harzen etc. (2) die natürliche Verjüngung regional angepasster Bäume und (3) die Steigerung der Biodiversität sowie des Wasser- und Bodenschutzes.

Selbstbestimmung der Dorfgemeinschaft und Baumschulprogramm garantieren langfristigen Erfolg

Die Dorfgemeinschaften verwalten das kollektive Waldgebiet nicht nur zusammen, sondern legen über einen partizipativen Prozess gemeinsame Regeln für die Betreuung der neuen Flächen fest. Des Weiteren soll ein Baumschulprogramm für Setzlinge einheimischer Arten etabliert werden. Das lokale generierte Wissen soll in einer nächsten Stufe in ein „Farmer to Farmer Training“ übergehen und dazu beitragen, weitere Standorte für Auszäunungsgebiete in der Region zu entwickeln. Das lokale generierte Wissen soll in einem nächsten Schritt in einem „Farmer-to-Farmer-Training“ weitergegeben und für die Aufforstung weiterer Gebiete in der Region genutzt werden.

Mehr lesen

Aufforstung und Regeneration lokaler Wälder in Nord-Gondar / Äthiopien

EMISSIONSREDUKTION11.200 t CO2-eq in 30 Jahren

PROJEKTDAUERStart 2018, Begleitung über 30 Jahre

PROJEKTKOSTEN218.000 €

KOSTEN PRO TONNE CO219,5 €

SITUATION OHNE PROJEKTEntwaldung und Überweidung

ZIELÜberführung von 60 ha Brachflächen in ungleichaltrigen, stabilen Niederwald und partizipatives Management der Weide- und Waldflächen